How to Bulk Delete Microsoft CRM Workflow Jobs


There are times when a Microsoft Dynamics CRM Administrator needs to clean-up the existing Workflow Jobs.  Anytime a workflow is triggered, a workflow job record is created – so this will impact the CRM database size at some point.  Here is a quick way to bulk delete all the existing completed workflow jobs in Microsoft CRM Online:

Login in to Microsoft CRM Web Client >> Settings >> Data Management >> Bulk Record Deletion >> click New to start the Bulk Deletion Wizard

image

image

Click Next on the Wizard >> Select “System Jobs” for Look for: >> set the following criteria:

  • Status Equals Completed
  • System Job Type Equals Workflow

image

 

Click Next to set the options such as send a notification when job is finished:

image

Click Next and Submit it!

 

Frank Lee, Microsoft CRM MVP since 2006
Workopia, Inc. – Microsoft CRM Online

About Microsoft Dynamics 365 / CRM

Microsoft Dynamics 365 CRM/xRM specialist in San Francisco, CA, USA.  Awarded the Microsoft MVP Business Solutions (Dynamics 365/CRM) 12 consecutive times from 2006 to 2018. Actively involved with Microsoft Dynamics CRM implementations since Microsoft CRM v1.0 beta (2002). Super passionate about everything CRM, especially in the areas of Mobile and Cloud Computing, A.I., Digital Transformation, and Business Process Management (BPM).
This entry was posted in CRM 2011, CRM On Premise, CRM Online, Microsoft CRM, Microsoft Dynamics CRM, Workflow and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to Bulk Delete Microsoft CRM Workflow Jobs

  1. ukcrmguru says:

    After cleaning up, don’t forget you can also set the property on each workflow to automatically delete completed system jobs so they are not even left there in the first place. Once you have done your troubleshooting, this should become standard practice in many cases. If you do want to keep jobs around for a while then don’t use this feature, but set Bulk Delete to run on a schedule (say once a week) and include a condition in the query for completed on > older than 1 month (for example)

  2. Kim Ky-Zuccolo says:

    Hello, we have CRM 2013 on prem and we are working on bulk deleting unneeded records. I have noticed that we have a few workflows with the box checked of “Automatically Delete Completed Workflow Job” – but these records are still being retained. Do you know what the problem may be? Thanks!

  3. Clicking on the “Automatically Delete Completed Workflow Job” on schedule the bulk delete for the Workflows that start at and after the time was saved with the setting. Previous Workflow jobs remains until manually or via bulk delete to clear them out.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s